Asparagus (vinyl 2LP)

(No reviews yet) Write a Review
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Black Truffle is thrilled to announce a major archival release from legendary American composer and live electronics innovator Richard Teitelbaum, centred around his soundtrack for Suzan Pitt’s cult 1978 animation Asparagus. Best known to some listeners for introducing Europe to the Moog synthesizer as a founding member of Musica Elettronica Viva in Rome, Teitelbaum’s extensive and radically experimental body of work includes collaborative recordings with master improvisers like Anthony Braxton, Andrew Cyrille and George Lewis, intercultural experiments combining electronics with non-Western instruments such as the shakuhachi, works for computer controlled piano, and large-scale multi-media operas.

The musicians featured alongside Teitelbaum were Takehisa Kosugi, Steve Lacy, George Lewis and Steve Potts on the Asparagus soundtrack.